Welcome Guest. Sign in or Signup

10 Answers

received a letter stating they were holding my refund upon further review of my return?

Asked by: lpliskin 15747 views YA Discussion

I efiled my return Jan 22 it was accepted on the 23rd..According to Turbo Tax I should have received my refund on Feb 8th, didn’t happen. When I checked the WMR link it said that it was being processed and reviewed..On Feb 14th I received a letter from IRS stating they were holding my refund upon further review and after that they would send out my refund..This morning my husband checked the WMR link and it said our check WAS mailed on Feb 17th….So should I watch my mail this week or what
Yeah the refund was reduced to pay a outstanding tax of 58 dollars….

How others found here:

  • irs review letter
  • irs review letter 2012
  • irs holding refunds 2013

10 Answers



  1. Quick Answers on Feb 21, 2012 Reply

    In your case, WMR is wrong. The refund was scheduled (which is why it showed up on WMR), but the letter supercedes it. Allow 45-60 days for this review.

    0 Votes Thumb up 0 Votes Thumb down 0 Votes



  2. Melinda on Feb 20, 2012 Reply

    Last year my husband and I went round and round with the IRS and it was the same thing your dealing with…. At the end of it all it took until he end of Oct. For us to get our return, and there was nothing wrong at all with our return but they kept saying it was under review but no one could or would tell us why or what was under review, the IRS then decided to pay us intrest on our refund, it was around $110. dollars and this year we had to pay taxes on that money…. What a joke! We got the run around for 10 months and had to pay them for money they owed us for their screw up…. Good luck everyone. I’m just praying that they don’t pull the same crap again this year.

    0 Votes Thumb up 0 Votes Thumb down 0 Votes



  3. Dominick S on Feb 21, 2012 Reply

    Yes…and check wmr to make sure the amount refunded is still the same and not adjusted…many of us having problems with dalays.

    0 Votes Thumb up 0 Votes Thumb down 0 Votes



  4. Letitia on Feb 21, 2012 Reply

    Im having this same exact problem but I called they said they mailed the letter but I still havent gotten it yet . They also said I was just randomly selected what does REVIEW mean what is it that they are doing but only diffrence is ive been waiting since jan. But still all the irs app jus say its being processed .

    0 Votes Thumb up 0 Votes Thumb down 0 Votes



  5. Randen on May 10, 2012 Reply

    I’m having the same problem. I filed on February 9th never recieved anything, called the IRS and they said they will be mailing me a letter and my tax return was under random review. Recieved the letter dated march 26th and waited the 45 days it told me to before calling. Finally called today and they said it was on a second hold and to wait 60 days this time! I got my taxes done professionally and NOTHING is wrong with them. I don’t understand what is going on and why they can’t give me any answers. It’s so frustrating.

    0 Votes Thumb up 0 Votes Thumb down 0 Votes



  6. tracie@ ;-) on Feb 21, 2013 Reply

    Does any one got a update to what happen during this situation last year, how long did the reveiw last?

    0 Votes Thumb up 0 Votes Thumb down 0 Votes



    • Ervin Gudakunst on Feb 23, 2013 Reply

      I called the IRS all they told me is to keep and eye on your bank account or the mail. No more answer than that……

      0 Votes Thumb up 0 Votes Thumb down 0 Votes



  7. Ervin Gudakunst on Feb 23, 2013 Reply

    I know the feeling just got a letter in the mail this sucks. Never happen before why know no body can answer your question.

    0 Votes Thumb up 0 Votes Thumb down 0 Votes



  8. michael barnes on Mar 05, 2013 Reply

    I got a text from Republic Bank but I dont know what they mean. It’s not clear to me what I should be doing at this point.It would be nice to talk with someone on the phone. My phone number is 918-360-9649(Mike Barnes)

    0 Votes Thumb up 0 Votes Thumb down 0 Votes



  9. jill on May 08, 2013 Reply

    What a bunch of B.S. ! My return was excepted Feb. 14th, i got a review letter saying it would be completed by May 2nd. I called the 3rd and was told they would send a request to the dept. in charge of my review and it could take another 30 days ! What a joke ! The only thing I claimed was the tax on my student loans, I think someone isn’t doing there job or I was just cast aside. Not happy, tired of waiting !

    0 Votes Thumb up 0 Votes Thumb down 0 Votes


Your Reply